What Does Subscribing Mean on YouTube?

When you are watching a video on YouTube, you often hear the owner of the channel telling you to subscribe to his/her channel. Am I right? Do you know what subscribing to a YouTube channel means? If no, don’t worry. That’s the essence of this article. I will teach you what subscribing means on YouTube. Ensure you read to the very end to get the value you seek.

What Does Subscribing Mean on YouTube

When you subscribe to a channel or user on YouTube, it means that you now have access to instant updates whenever new content from that source is uploaded. Everything that user posts on his YouTube channel, you will get a notification to watch it. Moreover, you can view the activity from the user. You can view your favorite videos, comments, rating from other viewers, and lots more.

How to subscribe on YouTube

When you get to a channel, you will see many features like; like comment, save, download, subscribe, and lots more.  You will see the Subscribe button next to every user name on the YouTube site. To subscribe to a channel, just click on the button. After that, a confirmation window pops up. Check the box labeled “Also email me for each new upload” if you want to be getting email alerts of new activity or you want it to show in the Subscription Center. Now, the user will get an alert to show that you have subscribed to his channel.

ALSO READ:  Messenger Chatbot | A Helpful Marketers Guide to Build Chatbot

But, before doing this, you must have signed into a Google account. That’s all. After you click on it, you will then start getting notifications about what the YouTuber posts or uploads. Further, all subscriptions are managed from the Subscription Center at youtube.com/mysubscriptions.

Furthermore, to access your subscriptions, go to the Subscription Center. Click the drop-down menu next to your user name in the top right-hand corner of the screen to access it. You can even see the “Subscriptions” option alongside “All activity” and “Recommendations” on the main YouTube front page at youtube.com. Click on it to review new content from your subscribed channels. Subscribers can set the content shows from each user and change the email alert settings.

Other Users Subscribing to Your Content

It is not only viewers that can subscribe to a channel. Even other YouTube users can subscribe to your user account channel to view videos, ratings, and comments that you make public. However, they can’t see private videos posted on your account.

Further, if you want to change which of your content and activity on YouTube is public, go to the “Settings” link beneath your user name in the top right-hand corner of each page on YouTube. Open the “Activity Sharing” link to change which activities are included in your user account’s feed. Anyone who has subscribed to your YouTube account can see this.

ALSO READ:  Social Media Engagement | 3 Ways to Improve Your Business Social Media Engagement

What if you want to unsubscribe from a User?

Whenever you become tired of getting video alerts and other updates from a user or channel on the YouTube service, cancel your subscription. To do this, go to the Subscription Center at youtube.com/mysubscriptions and choose the user account from the list on the left-hand side of the page. Go ahead to click the “Edit subscription” link, choose the “Unsubscribe from…” option and click “Update” to confirm. This removes the selected user account from the list of entries on the left. It also returns you to the main Subscriptions Center page. That’s all, very simple.

I hope you got value. Keep your questions in the comment section.

Social Media: Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Pinterest.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here